Reorganisation- aquarium decorations

There are plenty of aquarium decorations at the pets store. If I am not careful I could easily spend a lot. I also have to be mindful and practical that my 2 month old Oranda and Black Moor goldfish needs space to swim and not to over clutter the 54 litre aquarium.

Tekkers the Black Moor hasn’t got very good eye sight compared to Pebbles the Oranda. It’s a typical short coming for all Black Moors.

As my aquarium only had a pineapple apple cave chosen by my daughter, I thought it was a good idea to purchase more decorations. When the pet store had a 3 for 2 offer, I bought a rock arch, a colourful coral and a treasure chest decorations.

Tekkers enjoying the pineapple cave

I decided to not use the treasure chest at the moment and save it later during a water change. Reorganising the decorations gave me a lot of joy. Even Pebbles and Tekkers noticed the change in their playground.

Pebbles & Tekkers

Pebbles love the arch, gliding through the arch several times a day. Tekkers however chose to play with the pineapple cave as a hideout. It took Tekkers a couple of days to take courage to swim towards the right side of the aquarium where the arch was. Eventually curiosity took charge and Tekkers started nibbling at the arch and realised it was fun swimming under the arch when Pebbles was too busy nibbling on the gravel.

The stone arch – Pebbles favourite

The nice thing about the aquarium is it has got a blue light to indicate night time. Pebbles and Oranda knows when the blue light comes on it soon will be nap time. They tend to be less active as soon as I switch the blue light.

The night light – time to stop playing and sleep

It will be 2 weeks on Thursday when I brought home Pebbles and Tekkers. They have definitely grown since leaving the pet store.

Tekkers hideout – peek a boo

I have been careful with not over feeding. I was slightly overzealous with the midweek water change as I wet the carpet when the bucket overflowed as I had the flow rate on maximum . I won’t be making the same mistake twice.

Leave a comment