New hobby – goldfish

Fancy goldfish

I was convinced that I would not have a pet. However after reading the benefits of fish keeping as a hobby I eventually caved in. Far easier than having a dog as a pet.

Lots of research 🧐 on the internet including watching many utube videos grew my confidence into investing into this new hobby. I knew I preferred the goldfish and was amazed with their many different varieties.

From the size of the tank, types of fish, cycling new aquarium, water changes, feeding, filter maintenance , it meant dedication to keeping a healthy and lively fish.

I ordered my 54 litre aquarium, the gravel, the decor, fancy goldfish food, tap water conditioner and safe start which had the good bacteria. My mistake was to order only 1 fake plant and 2 kg of gravel. There wasn’t enough gravel to cover the base of the aquarium. One miserable plant was making the aquarium bare and shouting for more decor.

After setting up the tank, gravel and filter with conditioned tap water for a day, it was time to fill our aquarium with goldfish.

I also took the opportunity to buy more decorations and gravel when my daughter and I went to pet store. The guy at the pet store gave us lots of advice and was very helpful. We ended up getting two types of goldfish, a black moor and an oranda.

Playtime for Pebbles & Tekkers

Pebbles the white and orange oranda and Trekkers the black moor was quick to getting used to their new home.

Both goldfish were 2 months old and could live to more than 10 years when looked after well.

Pebbles was quick around the tank and often likes to wiggle at the front of the tank when seeing us come close to the tank. Tekkers is slightly timid and loves to explore his pineapple cave.

Tekkers exploring the pineapple cave

Feeding time is usually around 8 am and 4 pm. Pebbles rushes for the sinking pellet before it hits the ground. Tekkers waits for the pellets to sink before gobbling.

Leave a comment